Tags

, , ,

Sorry, for not blogging much lately, it’s a combination of me being really busy and having a writers block.

Anyways, bout coming up soon! This weekend actually, and I’m starting to get really nervous. Every time I see something related to the bout on Facebook, for example when they recently announced that the tickets were up for sale, I get crazy nervous and lots of butterflies in my stomach. It’s just getting so close and so real now. Imagine, in less than a week I will be skating around in front of maybe 500 people! Scary. (but good scary).

The last couple of weeks have been full of training and practice. In addition to derby practice, our league has a deal with the local Crossfit gym, so I have been going there on a introductory class two times a week as well. So it’s been training four to five times a week for at least a month now, which is a lot for me. I have come to discover that I love training this much though, I will definitely try to maintain this amount of exercise.

At derby practice, I’ve tried doing my very best, learning as much as possible and using every opportunity possible to skate. Being on the roster, I feel that I owe it to the team to be as good as possible. I’m never going to feel that I’m ready though. It’s always some things to get better at. But I guess that’s how it is in derby overall, you can never learn all there is to learn, there is always something new or something to perfect.

This week, our stupid practice venue has decided that it’s time for winter break, and everything is closed. We have managed to scrape together one practice. That means it’s only one practice left on skates before the bout! I’m sure that can explain some of my sudden surge of nervousness as well.

I’m sure everything will be great though, and that my first bout will be an awesome experience. What I fear the most is that I somehow manage to fuck everything up for the team, and be the reason for an eventual loss. But, I have to remember that we win as a team and lose as a team, everything does not depend on just one person. And, if I turn out to suck that much, they probably won’t put me in many jams.

I shall end this post with a picture of me playing actually! We played a couple of show-off jams during the break of a handball game recently, where I even played as a jammer! In front of an audience! Huge. It was kind of like a warm-up to the bout next week, at least I’ve played in front of an audience before.

Image

Me jamming! Lead jammer even! Crazy.

