Tags

, , ,

Wohoooo!

Now I have passed all my minimum skill requirements, and get to scrimmage! Holyshitholyshitholyshit, I am so excited!

This evaluation actually went a lot better than the last one I think. But, that has probably something to do with level of nervousness. This time, I naturally was really nervous to begin with, but then I started having fun instead. And then, no shaking legs or beating heart could ruin my performance, as I felt it did the last time.

Oh yeah, time to reveal my name!

Fatal Feline #42.

I really like it. I’m dealing with this whole derby name business with a kind of superhero-approach. Like, what kind of superhero I would like to be, or what my name would be if I were a superhero. Fatal Feline alliterates beautifully, and it gives me just the right associations. Tough, dangerous and deadly, but also elegant, fast, beautiful, feminine. It’s also a bit like Femme Fatale. I have this thing for cats, and felines in general. Felines are just the coolest, most beautiful, most elegant and generally awesomest animals in the world.  I can sit for hours watching shows about the great cats. I’ve even spent several hours watching that Cats 101 show on Animal Planet. I’ve also heard several times that I have cat-like eyes, and that if I were to be an animal, it would be a cat or another feline (this is, by the way, the greatest compliment anyone can give me!!).

The number, 42, is just to celebrate my inner nerd. 42 is, according to The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, the answer to life, the universe and everything.

Tomorrow will be my first advanced practice, and I’m looking forward to it with a mixture of glee and nervousness. What if I’ll look like a fool, what if I’m just reallyreally bad?  It will be great to get to know the veterans in the league more though. And start to really learn to play Roller Derby, not just skating techniques!

Now I’ve actually prepared a picture I could use to lighten up the text wall. This is me getting prepped for practice.

