Tags

, , , , ,

So, next week is evaluation week, which means that we will be tested to see wether we are skilled enough to advance to level 1 (all fresh meats start on level 0). At level 1 we will be able to have contact and engage in blocking exercises. At practice on monday, we basically went through all the skills we’re supposed to be able to do in order to advance. A lot of people were relieved when they learned that turn-around toe stops isn’t a requirement until level 2!

When it comes to my skills, I’m pretty confident that I’ll pass. I’m not saying that any of my skills are perfect, far from it. But the requirements aren’t that we’re supposed to do it perfect either, but to show that we are safe on our skates and that we have adequate knowledge about the different skills. But, then again, I might get so nervous that I’ll fuck it up, who knows. I’m terrible under pressure sometimes. It never pays to be overly confident anyway.

I’m just looking so forward to be able to start blocking exercises, and other stuff that are more “derby related”. Up till now, we’ve mostly just learned to skate, fall and be safe. Not saying that’s not fun though. I’ve just watched a lot of derby lately (with the WFTDA tournaments and all), and I just want to be able to do all that stuff too.

Nidaros Roller Derby has also taken their first step into the world, with their first international bout last weekend. They played against the swedish Gothenburg Roller Derby.  The final score was GBGRD 182 – NRD 113. Being the less experienced league, it was no surprise that Nidaros lost the bout, but they lost by far less than expected, and played a fantastic game considering that they had spent 12 hours on a train, and arrived about two hours before the bout started, and had almost no time at all to test the floor. I’m proud to be a part of this league!

 

The poster for the bout between Nidaros and Gothenburg.

