Tags

,

I’m joining a derby league here in Norway after the summer, and in my anticipation I have read several derby blogs. I then became inspired to start my own.  I battled a bit with the decision of which language I would like to use on this blog, before deciding to write in english. I do feel a bit conceited writing in english, but my fellow norwegians will understand english, and maybe I’ll gain some non-norwegian followers as well? After all, the roller derby community seems kind of international and widespread from what I have read and learned.

My derby adventure started maybe eight-nine months ago, when I first became aware of the sport. I had seen the movie Whip It some months before that, but I didn’t consider that Roller Derby was a sport I could actually join here in Norway. When a friend of my in Sweden joined a team in Stockholm the idea struck me that maybe I could join a team here in Norway as well.

I had just moved to Trondheim at that moment, and luckily, the first ever Roller Derby League in Norway had been established there. Unfortunately, they had just had their intake, and I had to wait until May the next year for the next intake.

And now, here we are. I’ve been at the two “open training sessions” Nidaros Roller Derby has organized and have gotten a pair of skates and have started practicing. Getting hold of skates and gear in Norway is really expensive, both if you by them here or order online. At least with the skates I wanted. I wanted some good skates from the start, so I decided on a pair of Riedell 265’s. I was so lucky that my BF went to the states with his family for the holidays, and he bought me a pair of vandals and with that managed to circumvent the stupid taxes you get from importing stuff, and with that I got my pair of skates a lot cheaper. I also found an ok helmet on sale, but I still need to by some pads and a mouthguard.

The rest of the holidays i plan on practicing my skating skills. So far they are almost non-exsisting. I only had my skates for a couple of days before I had to leave with my family on a trip to Lillesand, a town south in norway, to visit some family and friends. The house we are staying in are located in the middle of the forest, so I didn’t see the need to bring my skates, as there are no places to use them.

So, naturally, I cannot wait to get back to Oslo, where I am most of the summer holidays to practice my skating skills. And I’m now looking even more forward to getting back to Trondheim, where I attend university, and for derby practice to start. I’ve been completely addicted to derby ever since the open practice sessions in may. I have been watching a lot of bouts online, have read tons of information about different types of gear and different skates, and started reading the rules on wftda.com.

In this blog I will write about my experience in starting with derby, and hopefully I’ll write some small reviews on the gear I will eventually use and so on.

